The Great Tofu Scramble Adventure

Okay, I know what you might be thinking … “tofu scramble sounds so gross!” Others may be thinking that this sounds incredibly yummy. Still, others might just be curious to see what the heck I’m talking about. I encourage everyone to keep reading. There is delicious food to be had!

For long-time tofu connoisseurs, this is nothing new. For me, this is an alternative to morning scrambled eggs. I don’t know why, but lately eggs have been … how do I put this nicely? … eggs are making me queasy and I just can’t eat them!!! So, I embarked on a googling adventure to find an alternative to the morning staple and here’s what I came up with:

Now, please forgive me in advance, I am of Italian descent so I do not measure anything when I’m cooking. I will give you my best approximation of how much I used of each ingredient. Ready or not … here we go!

What you’re going to need:

  • 12-16 ounces of firm to extra-firm tofu
  • vegetables of your choice: I choose mushrooms and broccoli
  • 2 T. of butter or olive oil (or whatever you use to cook with)
  • spices: I used about 1/4 teaspoon of the following:
  • cumin
  • thyme
  • curry powder
  • salt & pepper to taste (I used garlic salt)
  • 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast

First thing’s first … What is nutritional yeast??? Since I’m no expert, here’s what wiki has to say, and I tend to agree with this definition. Don’t be scared of nutritional yeast, it is yummy, I promise. Now let’s get back to cooking:

Warm skillet with butter (or oil) on medium to medium high. Drain your tofu. I like to tear my tofu to give it a better texture when cooking (so it sort of looks like scrambled eggs) but you can cut it into bite size pieces. Slice up your veggies and set those to the side.

Tofu tends to be wet, so be careful when adding it to your pan so you don’t splatter yourself with hot cooking oil (I have scars from this). Start frying your tofu. It takes a little while to get it browned up. I like mine a little crispy so be sure to let it cook for a bit before you stir it. If you stir it too often, it won’t get brown and crispy.

Cooking tofu take practice and patience, so don’t be discouraged if it turns out chewy or hard on your first try. Also, if you find that your tofu looks like its taking a bath in the skillet rather than frying, simply scoop the tofu out, drain the pan, wipe dry, add more butter or oil and keep cooking.

Now, get out those spices! But not the nutritional yeast … we will add that at the end.

Sprinkle your spices on. Remember to add or more or less depending on your taste. I ended up up adding a lot more of the spices, but I love the flavors. Start with a small amount and build to your liking.

Next, add your veggies. I added my mushrooms first since they take a little more time to cook.

Once the mushrooms are browned it’s broccoli time!

Your tofu and mushrooms should be getting brown at this point. I like my broccoli a little crunchy, so I don’t cook it very long.

This is what mine looks like right before I add the nutritional yeast.

Time to sprinkle on the nutritional yeast.

Stir to coat the tofu and vegetables in the yeast and serve with your favorite sides. As for me, I like mine with skillet potatoes, vegetarian bacon, and tortillas.

Now go enjoy the delicious tofu scramble you just made!

Please comment below with any questions or if you have any suggestions for other recipes you would like to see. I would love to know your ideas.

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

4 responses to “The Great Tofu Scramble Adventure

  1. Off to a great start. Good content, yummy pictures.

  2. This looks delish, Sharon!!! Looking forward to seeing more healthy recipes!!!! I like all your pictures to guide me through the process. =)

  3. Looks awesome..except for the broccoli. Broccoli and I aren’t peeps.

Leave a Reply

