DIY: Homemade Cold Remedy

Fall is here with beautiful cool weather, apple picking, pumpkin patches, warm sweaters, and regrettably … it’s cold season, too. Recently, my boss came down with a terrible cold and I did everything I could to prevent myself from catching it. Thank goodness all the hand washing and constant sanitation of the office worked – I was able to stay cold-free. Hooray!

This got me to thinking about the fateful day when hand-washing, eating well, and staying warm fails, and I finally do get sick … I want to be prepared. I found this great homemade remedy on Pinterest that you can make now and store in the refrigerator. The link took me to  http://nancyvienneau.com. This remedy is very close to a hot “tea” I make when I’m sick, so, I thought I’d whip up a batch and try it out. I tweaked the recipe that she provided.

What you will need:

  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 3 T. of apple cider vinegar
  • 3 T. raw organic local honey
  • 4 T. warm water
  • empty glass jar for storage

Combine the warm water, vinegar, and honey in the jar. The warm water will help liquefy the honey. Then add in the cayenne and ginger. Put the lid on and give it a good shake. And here’s what you get:

It’s a spicy and potent liquid. I took a tablespoon (to give it a try to ward off anything that might be lingering from the office) and it wasn’t bad. I’m a bit of a wuss when it comes to spicy, so I took a sip of water after to cool my mouth. It’s not bad. I can already feel the warmth of the remedy working through my body killing off any germs. My sweetie was feeling a bit ill this morning, so I gave him a tablespoon and he said “Anything that tastes like that, must be good for you!” Hopefully it helps.

Comment and tell me what you do to ward off colds. If you enjoyed this post, please subscribe! I have much more to share with you.

Also, please let me know if you have any questions or want to see my hot “tea” remedy.

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

***Disclaimer: I am not a health professional. The statements made in this post are merely my own opinion and have not been reviewed or approved by any medical doctor. The remedy is only intended to promote the health benefits of the ingredients it is made of. This remedy has not been proved to treat or cure any disease. Use or ingestion of this remedy is at your own discretion.***

2 responses to “DIY: Homemade Cold Remedy

  1. I am a friend of Suellens and I will try this. In the past, I’ve tried the grapefruit extract with clove oil and a combination of grated ginger with honey and lemon. Thank you

  2. Thank you for sharing, Kris!

Leave a Reply

