DIY Organic Apple Chips: A Simple, Healthy Snack

Fall is one of my favorite seasons … and also the time of year when the two apple trees in my back yard are bursting forth with their bounty. With this comes the conundrum that most gardeners face … what to do with all those apples before they go bad. Although apples are a hearty fruit, they do not keep forever. I have been staring at these four bags of apples in the kitchen with dismay as to what to do with them. I have been so busy, and hardly have time to slave in the kitchen all day.

Then I saw a post by Rural Spin for Dried Cucumbers and that got me to thinking that I could apply the same method to my apples. As most of you probably know, organic dried apples or organic apple chips at the store can cost a fortune. Here’s my at home version that doesn’t require a fancy dehydrator. All you need is an oven and some time to kill.

What you will need:

Let’s get started!

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Cut up the apples into thin slices. Or use a fancy mandoline slicer (which is on my list of kitchen gadgets to buy) to get a more even cut.
  3. Put the apple slices in a plastic bag or a vegetable bag. (make sure it doesn’t have any holes or you’re going to make a mess)
  4. Add the oil to the bag.
  5. Shake as much or as little cinnamon as you like onto the apples.
  6. Now make sure there is some air in the bag. Twist the top closed so you make what looks like a balloon filled with apples, and get shaking!
  7. Open the bag and peer inside and see if the apples look like they are evenly coated with the oil and cinnamon to your pleasing. If so, start laying them out in a single layer on the baking sheet lined with wax paper or use the wire racks (no paper necessary for the racks).
  8. Bake in the oven for 3-4 hours. If you like chewy apple slices do less time. If you want them to be more like chips, go longer. This also depends on how thick or thin your slices are. If they are thick, they take longer to get to the chip phase, and it logically follows that if the slices are thin, they will take less time.

While you wait for you apple yummies to bake up, curl up with a good book, do some homework (which is what I did), clean the house, or go relax. Also, you can put sugar on the apples, too. I chose not to add sugar to keep this a healthy snack.

***WARNING***

Consuming apple chips is highly addictive and they are certain to disappear fast. It’s best to make another batch! When I went to go try my apple chips, they disappeared into my stomach in a flash. I made three times as much the following day. I felt it was only fair to warn you. 🙂 I hope you enjoy your snack.

What’s your favorite fall food? Please share in the comments section. And if you like this, please like and subscribe.

Until next time, I send you love, peace, and good energy.

~Sharon

6 responses to “DIY Organic Apple Chips: A Simple, Healthy Snack

  1. Lovely looking chips Sharon. I should try these next weekend.
    Best,
    Conor

  2. Fresh apple slices with cinnamon sprinkled on top is one of my favorite treats I can feel good and not guilty about gobbling up. I need to try this baked version, then maybe my kids would willingly join me in cinnamon apple snacking.
    Thanks!

    • The crispy chip version definitely has that “I’m eating junk food” appeal that kids will love. Plus, they’ll store for a while in an air-tight container. Great for lunch box snacks, too.

  3. Pingback: Simplify Your Life- Traveling with Young Kids « Teresa Chalmers

  4. Pingback: Zucchini Chips! | Sharon Vincello

Leave a Reply

