Chipotle Burger Topped with Creamy Lentils on a bed of Baby Greens

I’ve been on a no-wheat kick recently. I’ve been trying to cut out bread, crackers, pasta, etc. I think the refined wheat might be destroying my digestive system… 

Trying to cut out pasta for a Sicilian chick is like asking me to rip my heart out and stay alive. Just not going to happen. But! … because I love my body and it was the only vessel I was given to live in … I might as well listen to it and take care of it. Right? (pause) Right. /sigh

Well, I already failed miserably this morning when I opted for fluffy blueberry pancakes for breakfast. (But, see … I don’t like eggs right now, and it was either the eggs or the pancakes … and I can rationalize behavior until I’m blue in the face…) Okay, I admit my failure, and the only way to make up for it is to make a delicious gluten-free dinner, no wheat allowed to this party. And since I just like to fly by the seat of my pants in the kitchen, this is what I made:

What you’ll need:

  • 2 Morning Star Black Bean Chipotle Burgers – or any veggie burger of your choice. These just have incredible flavor.
  • 15 to 18 ounces of lentils. (cooked/drained/rinsed)
  • 3 stalks of celery
  • 1/3 c. chopped roasted red pepper
  • 2 carrots
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • olive oil
  • 2 c. vegetable stock (I used mushroom stock base)
  • spices: I used thyme, rosemary, and a bay leaf
  • 2 ounces of goat cheese
  • mixed salad green of your choice
  • dressing of your choice

Note: All veggies are organic. Serves two.

  1. Chop up the onion, celery, carrot and garlic. Put in the bottom of a heavy stock pot with a turn or two of olive oil. Cook on medium until onions are translucent. Then season with salt and pepper. Continue to cook for a few more minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, prepare the stock. Since mine came from a base, I needed to reconstitute it with water. I added about 1.5 tsp. of base to 2 cups of water. I then added 1 bay leaf, and 1/2 tsp. each of rosemary and thyme.
  3. Add the roasted red peppers, stock,
    spices, and lentils. Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer. Cook until lentils are tender but not mushy.
  4. Then grill or pan fry your burgers.
  5. Put the goat cheese in a small bowl and warm at 20 second intervals in the microwave to get it all creamy.
  6. Take your plate and make a bed of the greens on it.
    Drizzle with dressing. I drizzled mine  with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and then seasoned it with salt and pepper.
  7. When your burgers are done, place them on the bed of greens, then spread a layer of the creamy goat cheese over the top.
  8. Finally, top the burger with a scoop of lentils and serve.

I threw this together on a whim and had no idea whether it was going to be tasty. Luckily, my Sweetie approved it! And once again, there were no leftovers except for a bit of lentils.

Do you like to just whip up meals without a recipe? Or do you have to follow a recipe? Please comment.

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

Leave a Reply

