Warm Homemade Apple Cider

Fall is one of my favorite times of year – it is full of great smells: frosty air, wet leaves, apples, and cinnamon. I love it!

As most of my followers know … I’ve been trying to get rid of a whole lot of apples… and I didn’t want to do just one recipe with apples because that would be boring. You know what else would be boring? If everything turned out right the first time. Right?! Right. /sheepish smile

Soooooo … I wanted to make apple cider. I love going to Apple Hill, they have some fantastic fresh ciders out there. But since I missed a lil trip out there this fall I thought it would be nice to make my own.

I’m going to be honest with you right now … I made apple cider … but it was a journey to put it nicely … so I will share with you the recipe I used and what I would do differently next time.

I used this recipe. Which is a great recipe … but since this was the first time, I ran into a few hitches. Nothing I couldn’t overcome! 🙂

Here is my journey in pictures: (if you read the recipe you’ll see what I’m doing … I just didn’t want to repeat it all since I followed that recipe)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cooking part was fine. I probably doubled the recipe.

Here are my thoughts on this process:

  • Have lots of cheese cloth on hand. I don’t think I had enough to properly strain the apple mush.
  • Apples have a lot of silt … I’m not sure if that’s the right word for it – but it perfectly describes the natural sediment that is produced from the process – so be aware that you probably won’t make a clear product.
  • I got sick of squeezing the apple mush through the cheese cloth (because I don’t think I had enough of it to do it properly) so I ran the rest of the apple mush through my juicer … which I’m not sure if it helped. But I did it and I wanted to confess that part. And then I ran it through a fine mesh sieve as I poured it into my glass containers. (Kind of a pain as I had to constantly keep rinsing out the sieve to remove the silt)
  • I wish I hadn’t added 1/2 cup of organic sugar. My cider turned out to be a little too sweet for me. I think it would have great flavor without it – but it’s up to you. I add a little water to mine when I warm it up.
  • This is time consuming, but a fun adventure if you’re just hanging around the house on a crisp fall weekend.
  • Your house will smell amazing while this is cooking!!!
  • Enjoy the fruits of your labor – because they were worth it. Even better – share this with the people you love … because there is nothing better than making something fun and sharing it.

What is your favorite part about fall? Do you have a special recipe? Share your thoughts in the comments section. Thanks for reading!

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

One response to “Warm Homemade Apple Cider

  1. I ran into those same problems. What I started doing was juicing the apples and canning the juice. You can also freeze it. It is so concentrated that you need to add water to it but that’s great because then you have lots of apple juice. The pulp I give to my horse and/or I use in making cake, use a carrot cake recipe and use the apple pulp instead. Eating lots of fresh apples is really good for your skin. I’ll be Sharon has rosy cheeks.

Leave a Reply

