10+ Things to Give You the Warm n’ Fuzzies

It’s important to take care of the planet we were given to live on. To me this means reusing everything I can, recycling everything I can’t, and composting the rest. Well, that’s not entirely true … I do throw stuff away, but I try to do the first three things I mentioned before I do so. To some, this may sound incredibly tedious. To me, it gives me those warm and fuzzy feelings for doing my part to care for the Earth. In some cities, recycling is natural part of trash day, in other cities it’s nearly non-existent, and some cities do not have services to come pick up your recyclables. I have a couple of ideas for those of you who do not have recycling service:

  • Call your local trash company and ask them about recycling services. You may be surprised to learn that you can have your recyclables picked up (hooray!) or you can bring your recyclables down to the trash station and they will recycle them there.
  • Reuse things you would normally throw away (more on this in the next section).

The following is a list (certainly not comprehensive) of steps you can take to get your own warm and fuzzy feelings:

  • Reuse glass jars from peanut butter or jam for a safer alternative to plastic tupperware.
  • Reuse paper bags for groceries again, as trash bags, bags to carry your lunch in, or as fire-starter.
  • Reuse empty plastic bottles from shampoo, lotions, or body wash to make your own beauty products in.
  • Take your plastic grocery bags back to the store and either use them again or recycle them. My local grocery store has a recycle bin for used grocery bags right up front.
  • Compost your food scraps.
  • Recycle all plastic, glass, tin, and paper you can. Before you throw something away, ask yourself if it could be reused in someway or recycled.
  • Glass jugs from juice make great containers for keeping cold water in the refrigerator.
  • Put used paper towels and other paper products in your compost pile.
  • Use toilet paper and paper towel tubes for starting seedlings in.
  • Donate old egg cartons to a local farm or co-op or start seedlings in them.
  • Hang a rope in your back yard and use it to dry clothes, saves money and energy!
  • Cut up old cotton shirts and use them as rags for cleaning.
  • Use your bath towel more than once. Perhaps a whole week!
  • Buy a reusable water bottle or coffee cup.
  • Turn off the lights! 🙂

I could keep going, but I would be writing a book instead of a blog.

How do you do your part? I would love to hear your ideas in the comments section.

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

5 responses to “10+ Things to Give You the Warm n’ Fuzzies

  1. Lots of great ideas. As Americans we come up w/ lots of recyclables. Good idea about bugging the garbage collector if they don’t recycle.

  2. Love this! I always try to reuse jars from pickles, pepproncinis, and other small condiment jars as cups for around the house! They are also great to make into candle holders when spray painted and decorated!

  3. I was really bummed when I found out that Reno doesn’t recycle everything I put in my bin. Just the standard bottles, and cans. Hopefully we will get there someday.
    I also recommend getting CHICKENS! So many benefits, most notably the adorableness, oh and eggs, oh and they are adorable, oh and they eat bugs!

Leave a Reply

