Cornbread Breakfast Skillet

Cornbread for breakfast? Yes! I just said that. I have an on-again/off-again relationship with eggs, and I want a healthy meal that’s not the same old boring breakfast items you can find anywhere.This is what my silly brain came up with this morning while I was drifting somewhere between sleep and consciousness.

I will note I was under a bit of stress as to what to do with the large amount of leftover cornbread from last night’s vegan chili extravaganza – which explains my wierd dreams of cornbread for breakfast today.

What you will need:

  • Some left over cornbread
  • 3 eggs
  • vegetarian sausage
  • 5 mushrooms, sliced thick
  • a bit of onions, sliced
  • 2 T. soy milk (or whatever milk you like)

In a skillet on medium, add some oil or butter. Then add the sausage, mushrooms, and onions to the pan. Season with salt and pepper. 

As you can see, I had two morning star sausage patties, and two links … I just used a mixture. Once everything is nice and brown and yummy, remove from the pan and set aside to be added back in later. (I chopped up the sausage into bite-sized chucks).

Next, scramble the eggs in a bowl with the soy milk. Season with salt and pepper. Then, crumble the cornbread into the bowl in bite sized chunks. This sort of reminded me of making french toast. I mixed the chunks around until the cornbread had absorbed most of the egg mixture (there was still a bit of egg at the bottom – no big deal)

Now be sure to add a pat of butter or some more oil to your pan before you put your egg-cornbread mixture in there. Add the mixture, and fry up over medium to medium low heat. You want the eggs to cook, not burn.

Once the eggs look cooked, and the cornbread is a bit toasted looking, add the mushrooms, sausage, and onions back in. Mix to combine and warm through.

I plated mine by topping it with grated cheese, some green onion, and added some hot sauce to the side. It was savory, satisfying, and filling! This is definitely not a boring breakfast.

How do you spice up your breakfast? Please tell me in the comments.

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

3 responses to “Cornbread Breakfast Skillet

  1. You had me at cornbread for breakfast!

  2. Pingback: Hashbrown Breakfast Skillet | Sharon Vincello

Leave a Reply

