Natural Fabric Softener

Okay, I admit, dryer sheets smell awesome but, they are bad for us:

US National Library of Medicine: Respiratory toxicity of fabric softener emissionshttp://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10872633

Since I’m not a scientist or doctor – you can read that abstract or google your little heart out to find out why they are so bad.

So what’s our option to those toxic sheets of anti-static magic? One word: vinegar. Vinegar is a natural deodorizer and cleaner, and amazingly, it prevents static. Did I mention cheap? Okay – it’s cheap, too.

How do I use it? Add about a half of a cup to the rinse cycle, an old downy ball, or the fabric softener cup inside your machine.

I found a lot of great information about natural fabric softeners on DIY Natural’s website. They have great tips on how to use essential oils to help boost your laundry, too.

New twist! Whitening fabric softener!!!

As many of you may know – lemons have natural lightening properties. Lemon essentials oils are used as a natural bleach. Since I already had some lemon rinds steeping in some vinegar, I decided to see how well it worked on a dirty cream-colored jacket that needed a good washing.

I simply strained the lemon rinds which had been soaking for about 2 weeks in the jar of vinegar, and put the resulting liquid into an old bottle, and then filled it the rest of the way with fresh white vinegar. I labeled it so no one uses this on colored clothes, since it has the potential to ruin/bleach them.  I used a 1/4 c. of my natural laundry soap and about 1/4 c. of the lemon fabric softener for a small load.

The results? Awesome! The jacket that had black and brown smudges on it was clean and cream once again. The smell? Naturally clean. I promise you, your clothes will not smell like vinegar.

Give it a try! You might be amazed with the results, and all the money you have saved.

Let me know what you think in the comments section. How else do you use vinegar? I know I use it for just about everything!

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

8 responses to “Natural Fabric Softener

  1. I have been dying to use dryer sheets on my dog blankets but I too read how bad they were. I’ll try putting vinegar in the rinse water. Thanks!

  2. Thanks for commenting, Suellen! Vinegar is a great deoderizer. Our 17 year old kitty had an accident on our bed … I washed all the bedding in my homemade detergent and vinegar and the smells were gone, and the bedding was fresh and clean.

  3. Pingback: Wash your yoga mat!!! | The Crunchy Journal

  4. Reblogged this on A Balanced Life and commented:
    I tried using vinegar as my fabric softener this week and it totally works!! And your clothes don’t smell like vinegar either. I will definitely be continuing to do this!

  5. The lemon infused bottle in the above picture looks like a pickle jar. I wonder if we could use the brine from the pickle juice and lemon?

    • I don’t recommend using pickle juice as it has salt, sugar, spices, and colorings in it (not just vinegar). Pickle juice may stain clothing. I do keep and reuse glass jars from pickles, peanut butter, etc. But I thoroughly wash them before using. The yellow hue is only from the lemon peels steeped in the vinegar. Good luck!

  6. I was wondering if it leaves any reminant of scent behind. I am thinking of steeping fragrant flowers such as jasmine and roses in my vinegar to use on our bedding. I have an abundance of these flowers and free beats paying for essential oils.

    • Hi Ruby,

      None of my clothes have ever had a residual vinegar smell. I use both white and apple cider vinegar in the washer. I have never tried steeping flowers in vinegar, but I don’t see any reason you couldn’t give it a shot. Just be sure to do a test batch to ensure you do not inadvertently stain your clothes with any of the natural oils or colors from the petals. I love that you are using the plants from your own garden. Please let us know how that turns out. Thank you for sharing.

      ~Sharon

Leave a Reply

