Crispy Tofu Bowl

Recipe inventing comes naturally to me … I am constantly thinking of new combinations in my head. Sometimes, I challenge myself to make an exciting dish out of what’s already in my kitchen/garden. I also don’t have much time, so I usually come up with these ideas when I’m at school or work … I jot a few things down, use some of the cooking techniques I’m familiar with, and then throw in a new twist.

Here’s yet another one of those concoctions … I wasn’t sure about it at first, but it turned out splendid and it got the stamp of approval from my Sweetie.

What you will need:

  • 8 ounces of tofu, thinly sliced.
  • a cup of broccoli florets
  • 15-20 shiitake mushrooms, cleaned and stems removed
  • 1 lb or green beans, washed and cut into 1 inch pieces
  • skillet
  • oil or butter
  • salt and pepper
  • Blue cheese crumbles for garnish

Saute` tofu over medium heat until crisp, season with salt and pepper, remove from pan and place into a bowl until later. 

Saute` mushroom caps until brown, season with salt a pepper, remove from pan and place in bowl with tofu. 

Turn up the heat to medium-high and add the green beans and broccoli and char.  Season with salt and pepper. This will cook the vegetables slightly while giving them a nice smoky flavor. 

Now push the vegetables to one side of the pan and add the tofu and mushrooms back to the pan to warm them through. 

To plate: Place a large scoop or two of vegetables to a bowl. Then put down a layer of mushroom, top with the tofu and then sprinkle on the blue cheese. The blue cheese gives a nice creamy element to the crisp veggies and tofu while adding a nice punch of flavor to the dish.

Please let me know what you think in the comments section. I always love hearing feedback.

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

One response to “Crispy Tofu Bowl

  1. You had me at blue cheese. Mmm.

Leave a Reply

