Zucchini Chips!

So, ever since I figured out I could dry stuff in my oven … I’ve been on a drying kick! I invested in some racks, I’ve been day dreaming of things I can dry, and even had some mess ups. Hooray for mess ups! If you’ve read my post on Apple Chips this is the same thing but with zucchinis and a savory twist. 

What you’ll need:

  • 2-3 zucchinis thinly (preferably large in diameter … you’ll see why later)
  • 1-2 T. safflower oil, or vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper
  • nutritional yeast
  • plastic bag (I used a produce bag)
  • cooling racks or a baking sheet lined with parchment/wax paper

How to make it:

  • Heat oven to 200 degrees F
  • Put the slices into the bag, add the oil, salt and pepper.
  • Twist the top of the bag closed to form a balloon full of zucchini and shake, shake, shake! …until evenly coated.
  • Lay in a single layer on the racks or baking sheets.
  • Sprinkle with the nutritional yeast

  • Bake for about 3 hours, checking frequently.

Okay, so here’s why you want to use zucchini that is large in diameter. The ones I used were skinny – so I got tiny chips. Still tasty – but tiny. I ate all of them the next day. True story.

Things not to dry: potatoes. Unless you wanna break your tooth and taste raw potato – don’t do it. I know from experience … minus the broken tooth – but I’m sure that would have happened if I bit a thick one.

Other flavors I want to try:

  • Chili Lime
  • Taco
  • Salt & Vinegar
  • Cumin

What else could I dry? Hmmmmmm? What do you want to turn into “chips?” Please comment with any suggestions, thoughts, or ideas.

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

Leave a Reply

