Natural Face Wash – Oil Cleansing Method

I’ve had clear skin, a few pimples, and hormonal acne … and most store-bought face washes just dried out my skin. For me, I think this dry skin contributed to the pimple outbreaks, and I needed a better solution to this issue. In a Facebook post by my friend, Sarah B., she mentioned she used oil to clean her face. I know this sounds counter-intuitive, but it makes sense if you’ve ever read about oil cleansing.

I thought I would give this a shot. To my surprise, it does get your face clean. I have fewer pimples, and my face feels moisturizerized … which is pretty good for living in the arid high desert.

What you’ll need:

  • A container
  • olive oil
  • castor oil
  • tea tree oil (optional)

I do a 80/20 mix. So 80% of the bottle is olive oil, and 20% is castor oil. I just eye it … measurements here. I then add a few drops of the tea tree oil (which helps clear up pimples). This will also take off your make-up. Win, win!

How to use:

  • Have a  wash cloth ready to use.
  • Before I wash my hair, I pour a quarter-size pool of the oil in my hand, rub my hands together, and then gently rub all over my face.
  • I take my wash cloth (with my eyes closed), and run the wash cloth under hot water, and place the wash cloth over my face to open up to pores.
  • After about 30 seconds, I take the wash cloth and start gently wiping the oil off my face.
  • There will be a light film of oil left on your face. This is a great moisturizer, no need to wipe it all the way off.
  • I then shower as normal.
  • I do this before I wash my hair, just in case I get the oil in my hair … so I don’t go out of the house with oily roots.

Are you willing to wash your face with oil? I would love to hear you thoughts in the comments section.

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

Leave a Reply

