Biscuits & Sausage Gravy: Vegetarian Style

One of my absolute favorite breakfast dishes in the whole-wide world is biscuits and gravy. My Dad would always make it for me on my birthday when I was little. He would even make it for my friends when I would have sleepovers. (What a great Dad, huh!?!)

When I moved out, I would still crave this comforting dish. Unfortunately for me, I found out I’m highly allergic to cow’s milk, specifically the protein casein. I’m not the typical “lactose intolerant” gal. The type of allergy I have wreaks havoc on my digestive tract days after consumption. This prompted me to find an alternative that was just as tasty as the original. Hence, this recipe was born.

My Sweetie now begs for this dish like I used to as a child. I smile with the thought that I have passed on my love for this dish that will always remind me of my Dad. Recently, when my family (Dad included) visited for the holidays, I made them my version, and everyone ate it up like the recipe hadn’t changed. Woohooo! I call that a success!

Serves two.

Adapted from a recipe by Chez Bettay, original recipe found here:

Biscuits:

Makes 4 biscuits.

Get out a food processor or mixing bowl (it can be done both ways – just be sure not to over-mix). 

Add the flour to your food processor with the coconut oil, sea salt, and baking powder. Pulse until slightly combined.

Add the goat milk to the flour mixture. Pulse to combine. 

Now add the apple cider vinegar to your soymilk to create a vegan “buttermilk.” Slowly drizzle this into the food processor to gently combine. Being careful not to over mix. 

Turn out onto a floured board.  If slightly wet, knead in some more brown rice flour. You want the mixture to be slightly wet, but not falling a apart. 

Pat dough into a 3/4in to 1 in thick. Slice into 4 parts. Take each part and form into a biscuit. Or use biscuit cutters.

Place onto a greased cookie sheet. Brush tops with a little more melted coconut oil.  Bake for 13-15 minutes.

Sausage Gravy:

While the biscuits are baking we can start making the gravy.

Brown the sausage over medium high heat.. Remove from the pan and set aside.

Reduce heat to medium/medium-low. Add the coconut oil and flour to the pan and cook to make a roux. Cook slightly to get rid of the floury flavor. 

Add the soy milk, and whisk quickly to combine. One combined, turn up the heat to medium high. 

Add a ton of fresh cracked pepper (to your taste), add some salt and a little sprinkle of sage. 

Bring to a simmer and cook until thick. Add the sausage back in, and stir to combine. Check your gravy for seasoning … add more salt, pepper, and sage to your liking. 

Keep some extra soy milk on hand if the gravy begins to thicken too much. You will be able to thin it out by adding a tiny bit of soy milk at a time until you get the gravy consistency you like.

Slice open your biscuit, butter it, and then top it with heaping spoonfuls of gravy. Now eat up!

What is your all-time favorite breakfast? I would love to hear about it in the comments.

I will note that you can make your own “veggie sausage” with TVP by moistening the TVP with water or broth and then seasoning it with sage, salt, and pepper (which I did in this recipe since I was short on sausage patties). If you would like to know more about how to cook with TVP, please let me know in the comments section.  

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

One response to “Biscuits & Sausage Gravy: Vegetarian Style

  1. You’re hot stuff! Good idea about the TVP sausage …

Leave a Reply

