At-Home Natural Spa

Hi folks! This is a quick mid-day blog post for you!

I wanted to share with you some of my favorite at home DIY skin-care. I like to make up a few of these at home for at-home spa night. 068

(Yes, I had to include some goofy photo of myself in a mud mask … enjoy!)

Olive Oil/Sugar Scrub:

This is an old stand by for me. I simply mix a tablespoon or two of sugar with enough olive oil to moisten the sugar. You can also make a larger batch and keep some in your bathroom or shower.

To use: I prefer to use on a dry face to slough off dead/dry skin. I simply put some in my hand and start gently scrubbing in small circles, focusing on any problem areas. Then simply rinse with warm water and pat your face dry with a towel.

It’s nice to leave the olive oil on your skin as a natural moisturizer. The molecules in olive oil are too large to clog your pores … so don’t worry about it making you break out. This also makes a great all-over body scrub, too! (I’ve been doing this since I was in high-school!)

For acne prone skin, use salt instead of sugar.

Note: The finer the granules of salt/sugar are, the finer the scrub will be. This is good to note if you have sensitive skin as you may want to use a finer granule.

Oatmeal mask:

I will pulverize a handful of oatmeal in my food processor until it is a fine powder. I then mix the oatmeal with enough milk (soy milk/almond milk) to moisten it to create an oatmeal paste.

To use: cover face with the paste and leave on for at least 10 minutes or until dry. Rinse with warm water.

This mask is a great anti-inflammatory/calming face treatment. It is helpful for when you’re having outbreaks or a skin rash.

Mud Mask:

Take a tablespoon or two of bentonite clay and mix with a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, you may need more vinegar to thin out the mask if it is too thick to apply. Mix to combine. Apply to face. You may feel tingling at first, this is the clay doing its work to remove impurities from the skin. Allow to dry and remove with warm water and a wash cloth.

I always follow up by moisturizing my face with olive oil or coconut oil. Ahhhhh …. I feel so refreshed, don’t you?

What are your favorite at-home spa treatments?

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy!

~Sharon

One response to “At-Home Natural Spa

  1. You look like a creepy crawly monster. Just in time for the holidays. I love it.

Leave a Reply

