Who needs a good laugh? (with Gluten-free Bread recipe)

Okay … so you remember in my other post New Years Eve 2012 where I told you I was going to bake my first loaf of gluten-free bread? Well, I did. She isn’t pretty, but she sure is tasty! My Sweetie remarked that it tasted like a coconut flavored cornbread. I will say the texture was very similar to a cornbread. It was particularly tasty toasted with butter and jam on top. It made a great snack while we were skiing today … hearty and filling, and loaded with good energy and protein.

I used a recipe from Annmarie Cantrell posted here and posted below:

Ingredients

  • 6 pasture-raised eggs
  • 1 tablespoon raw, local honey
  • 1/2 cup ghee, pastured butter or coconut oil (if you want a dairy-free version, use either ghee or coconut oil)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 3/4 cups sifted coconut flour (sift first, then measure)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda (aluminum-free)

Directions

Step 1
Preheat the oven to 350F. Grease a small (9″x5″x3″) loaf pan.
Step 2
Blend together eggs, ghee, honey and salt.
Step 3
Combine coconut flour with baking soda and mix with liquid ingredients until there are no lumps.
Step 4
Pour into greased loaf pan and bake for 40 minutes.
Step 5
Remove from pan and cool on rack.
Step 6
Serve with ghee, nut butter, or use in sandwiches.

________________________________________________________

I did use a breadmaker … and I’m not sure if that mattered … since this is my first time ever baking bread. So, I think I will make it again once we finish eating the brick I baked. However, I think I will skip the bread maker and bake it in a traditional bread pan in the oven and see if that makes a difference. I will report on that. I still think what I made tastes good … but I think it could be better. So here’s a picture of the beauty I baked up:

105

 

 

 

 

110

Okay, so it stuck to the sides a bit and I couldn’t get it out with a butter knife … so I had resort to digging it out with a spoon. Don’t judge me.

This is a learning experience and I will get better. It is one more step away from pre-packaged and processed foods for me and my family. It’s not easy getting back to basics.

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

4 responses to “Who needs a good laugh? (with Gluten-free Bread recipe)

  1. I am wondering if it supposed to be some type of flat bread since there is no yeast or rising time.

    • @Lynn: Thanks for commenting! I think it supposed to be like banana bread … kinda, or corn bread like I mentioned. But I am going to work on making it more fluffy like a regular sandwich bread.

  2. Awesome! Is coconut flour hard to find or readily available?

Leave a Reply

