Sprouted Breakfast Oatmeal (No Cooking Required!)

Raise your hand if you actually wake up and prepare breakfast for yourself before leave the house in the morning… … … If you’re anything like me, your hand is not raised right now. I’m so busy that I need to get as much sleep as possible, and unfortunately, that does not mean waking up early to make a healthy breakfast. I had to come up with a solution I would eat. I turned to oatmeal.

There is nothing more bland and tasteless than oatmeal. I’ve never been a huge fan of it … a hot bowl of slimy goo that I was supposed to like because it was flavored and covered and sugar. Not for me. I’ve tried, in vain, for years to like oatmeal … but no success, until now!

So what changed? The oats. The method of preparation. The ingredients.

The method is simple … you make it the night before and BAM!!! – breakfast to go in the morning. No more waking up early to make yourself something. No more stopping on your way to work for something “quick” and unhealthy. This recipe makes enough to last us all week – we each take about 1/2 cup about 3 times per week. This breakfast gives you sustained energy to get up and going for the day.

What you will need:

  • a medium glass bowl
  • 1 cup of oats (I use steel-cut – but rolled is fine, too)
  • 2 cups of cashew milk
  • a few tablespoons of molasses or 1/2 cup of dates
  • a tablespoon or two of cinnamon
  • agave nectar, optional (for added sweetness)
  • 1/4 cup of fried fruit – we use cranberries but cherries or anything else will do fine.
  • nuts or seeds

The method: Do this the night before.

  1. Put the cashew milk in the blender, add the molasses or dates and cinnamon. Blend.20130127_180050
  2. Taste the mixture to see if it is to your liking – if you prefer a little more sweetness add a tablespoon or so of agave nectar.
  3. Put the uncooked oats into the glass bowl. Pour the cashew milk mixture on top. Stir to combine. Add dried cranberries. (I also threw in 1/4 c. flax-seed).20130127_18003920130127_180110
  4. Cover and refrigerate overnight (at least 8 hours). The next morning you will have either a solid mixture if you used rolled oats, but if you used steel-cut you will have a slightly soupy mixture.

Personally – I prefer the slightly soupy mixture. I just scoop enough in my to-go container and bring it with me to work. I eat it cold. Sugar prefers to warm his up by microwaving it for a few minutes at work.

You can also vary this by adding nuts, seeds, other fruits, other spices … the sky is the limit.  Make your own custom flavor by changing the spice, sweetener, and add-ins.

How do you feel about eating sprouted oatmeal?

Until next time, I send you peace, love, and good energy.

~Sharon

Leave a Reply

