5 things I’ve been loving lately

Me, on a hike with my family at Castle Rock.

Me, on a hike with my family at Castle Rock.

Life catches up with us … sometimes, it feels like life is moving in fast-forward. At least for me. If you’re busy … you know what I’m talking about. But it’s OKAY! We can still be healthy and green even when life is spinning out of control. It takes a little discipline and the drive to be healthy, but with a little effort, we can reap what we sow.  Below is a list of the five things I have been loving during the whirlwind I call “my life.”

#1 – Book stores!

I don’t know about where you live, but where I live the local book stores are meeting their end and succumbing to the digital era. It is unfortunate to watch one of the great legacy’s of our  time whither and die, but I suppose it is a part of the cycle of life.

I have an absolute love for collecting books … I may do a little more collecting than reading, but who is keeping score? In my collecting spirit I took advantage of an offer from one of my friends to meet her at one of the book stores that is closing in our area for their 50% sale. I picked up some wonderful books about gardening and herbal medicines. I am very excited to add them to my collection. I have always fancied myself as an apothecary…

At any rate … go check out your local book store and find some great deals on books about subjects you want to learn more about.

2. Homemade deodorant!

Okay, so people look at me sideways when I tell them I make my own deodorant and that I am wearing it at the present moment. I think they are wondering if I smell and if they should take a step back. To be honest, I was apprehensive at first, but I was sick of using the commercial stuff that I knew was slowly poisoning me … I got to the point where I would rather smell bad than die. Logical, right?

So I saw this post for Primal Pit Paste … so I began reading about it. It looked like it would work, so I read the ingredients and was shocked when I realized I had all the ingredients in my pantry. And in my apothecary spirit I skipped to my kitchen to begin creating. I whipped up a small batch, poured it into an old deodorant container and began using it. I loved it so much I made some for my Sugar. And he loves it! In fact – the dark marks under his arms have disappeared (which I think were caused by the toxins in the commercial deodorant).

Honestly, I’m hooked. I’m going to be making some more for a friend soon – can’t wait for her to try it out!

3. Taking my supplements!

I don’t know about you, but I am the worst about taking my supplements. I don’t know if it just the pure rebellion bubbling up … but I always “forget.” In fact, I just now realized that I have two maca and a vitamin B complex in my pocket as I type this. Yes, I just took them out of my pocket and swallowed them. (Good girl!) When I do take them, I feel so much better.

Truth is … most of us are deficient in the nutrients we truly need from our diets. For me I like taking vitamins B and D, evening primrose oil, maca, spirulina, flax oil, safflower oil and borage  oil. Consult with your local homeopath or doctor about what supplements are right for you. Every body is different.

4. Information on Facebook!

Recently I have liked the following pages to keep me up-to-date on the happenings of our world:

  • NPR
  • Oh She Glows
  • Mountain Rose Herbs
  • DIY Natural
  • Wellness Mama
  • Rural Spin

And I have liked some our local businesses such as co-ops and raw food chefs. Check it out … there is a world of knowledge to be had!

5. Down time!

Wait, what? What is this so-called downtime?

I know, I know … I know. It is truly the last thing a type-A, busy college student, who is working has time for. However, we are animals, not machines. If we don’t take the time to rest and relax, we’re gonna break, and we’re gonna break hard!

In the interest of living past my 30’s I have decided that taking some down time is a good thing. So – what have I been doing in this down time?

  1. Writing this blog … I know, it’s been a while. 
  2. Joined a book club to re-learn the love of reading that college has destroyed.
  3. Naps
  4. Going outside … just to love the outside a little more. Nature is truly beautiful. If you want your mind blown about nature watch “Fractals” you will never look at a cloud or a tree the same. 🙂
  5. Talking to my loved ones … I know a lot of people might do this frequently, but I don’t live near my family, and I don’t have any time to talk that isn’t between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. It’s just nice to connect with the people you love the most and hear what is going on their lives.

What things have you been loving lately?

Until next time, I send you peace love and good energy!

~Sharon

 

Leave a Reply

